Oregon Sick Time: Quick Tips for Compliance
Oregon Sick Time has been a "thing" for a few years, but there can be some nuance to the law that employers need to be aware of. Here are a few quick tips to ensure you're in compliance with OST: -"Sick time" is protected time when you are allowed to miss work to take care of yourself or a family member that is sick, injured, experiencing mental illness, or needs to visit the doctor. - Employees accrue one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours worked. - Every employer with 1 or more employees is required to provide unpaid sick leave. - The threshold for paid OSL is 10 employees in Oregon, unless you have employees in Portland, then the threshold is 6. - Notifying Employees of their Balance Quarterly: One of the requirements is to notify employees of their remaining balance each quarter. Most employers accomplish this by just including the balance on their paycheck. You can find more information about OST on BOLI's website. Stay compliant, friends!